RYA Zapcat Championship - Harsh conditions

RYA ZapCat Championship 2012
RYA Zapcat Championship 2012 took place over the weekend of 21st and 22nd April in Fistral, with fourteen Zapcat teams making the journey to the popular surfing location in Newquay to battle it out in the opening bid to become 2012 RYA Champions.

The fleet were split into two classes based upon the crews combined weights to provide a level playing field. Crews with a combined weight under 26.5 stone were placed into the ZCR50 Class and those at 26.5 Stone and over into the ZCR50x.

Daunting surf conditions and unyielding onshore winds produced some of the harshest conditions teams have seen in recent years and it wasn’t long before the first boat of the weekend flipped in the surf; Royal Marine team ‘Commando Spirit’. Uninjured but a little wetter than they were before it wasn’t long before Commando Spirit’s rookie racers Stephen Cox and Damian Beveridge were back out on the water trying to conquer the waves once more.

Getting their championship campaign off to a flying start ‘Team Essence’ Jamie Stickler and Nathan Parker secured the gold medal in Saturdays racing in the ZCR50 Class; with Royal Marine Commando team ‘State of Mind’ piloted by Richie Lake and Andy Farmer taking the gold in the ZCR50x Class.

Conditions for Sunday’s racing remained unrelenting as the teams lined up for another day of this extreme sport. Organisers took the decision to reduce the number of heats and laps to ensure the safety of the teams and safety crew.

A return to racing for Patrick Moger and Paul Rush in Crest of a Wave saw them prove their experience and secure the days ZCR50 final and with it Pat’s first gold medal in his several years of racing.

Meanwhile following the loss of Co-pilot Mark Holt in Saturday’s final when he fell out of the boat on the home straight ‘RM Team Contact Wait Out’ were out to prove themselves in Sunday’s racing and made a perfect tactical move to overtake 2011 ‘Kings of Surf Trademymotor.com’ to secure the Sunday ZCR50X Final.

The Championship will be battled out over 10 rounds of racing with the next venue to be announced in the next couple of weeks.

Standings after 2 Rounds:

Pos.Boat No.Team NamePilotCo-PilotRound 1Round 2ChampionshipStandings
13Team EssenceJamie SticklerNathan Parker10075175
213Live WireJames MillestAndrew Bradshaw9080170
338Speedy HireDaren FordKelly Allen7590165
444Who the Hell Rock OilSteve PidsleyBobby Pidsley8070150
512Crest of a WavePatrick MogerPaul RushDNR100100
611Felgate RacingRichard FelgatePamela FelgateRTDDNR0
728Westgate BuildingsCharles Morris DNRDNR0

Pos.Boat No.Team NamePilotCo-PilotRound 1Round 2ChampionshipStandings
137RM State of MindRichie LakeAndrew Farmer10075175
214RM Contact Wait OutPaul HoltMark Holt70100170
=342RM Fire for EffectRichard WrightLee Head9080170
=374Trademymotor.comAndy FosterJason Peacock8090170
558Cool RunningsAlan CrosslandLuke Chalmers7570145
645RM Commando SpiritStephen CoxDamian Beveridge6565130
741RM Rogue MissileGareth MorganIan Elsdon60DNR60

For more information about RYA Powerboat Racing visit the RYA website