Hamilton Island - Social media initiative

Whitehaven Beach, on Whitsunday Island - Ultimate Instameet : Returntoparadise
Return2Paradise is being held from 17th to 19th May 2013. Hamilton Island has secured a lineup of the country’s top talent to be ambassadors for its social media initiative the Ultimate Instameet: Return2Paradise.

The who’s who list of Australian fashion, business, food, TV, sport and radio personalities includes model and TV presenter Rebecca Judd (@becjudd), We Are Handsome Co-Founder and Designer Jeremy Somers (@wearehandsome), world swimming champion Michael Klim (@michaelklim1), mother, businesswoman and Balinese princess Lindy Klim (@lindyklim), food photographer and cookbook author Billy Law (@atablefortwo), comedian and radio announcer Scott ‘Dools’ Dooley (@scottdools), plus photographer, designer and one of Australia’s top 10 Pinterest users Luisa Brimble (@luisabrimble).

When speaking of the Instameet Rebecca Judd said she can’t wait to take part: ‘I'm really excited about finally being able to visit qualia on Hamilton Island. This gorgeous destination has always been high on my wish list and to be able to visit it as part of an Instameet adds a whole new dimension – I can’t wait!’

These talented Aussies, boasting a combined Instagram following of over 115,000 fans, will be joined by Australian, UK and Chinese Instagrammers and competition winners for a weekend Whitsundays’ getaway.

The group will experience the best of the region’s delicious produce, incredible sights and unique experiences, which they will capture and share instantly with their social networks on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+, Tumblr and China’s Tencent Weibo, reaching hundreds of millions of social media users in Australia, United Kingdom, China, and beyond.

Sophie Baker, Hamilton Island’s Senior Communications Manager said: ’Instagram is a modern-day postcard; a way to share your travel experiences in real-time with friends, family and followers around the globe. By credibly tapping into the power of social influence and the vast networks of these well-known Instagrammers, we’re able to promote Hamilton Island to a much broader, connected and socially-savvy audience who like to emulate the experiences of those around them.’

A bespoke itinerary showcasing the best the Island has to offer has been created and will include three-course feasts at qualia’s waterside Pebble Beach, a day trip to nearby Whitehaven and Chalkies beaches for snorkeling, swimming and sumptuous local Whitsundays seafood, sunset cocktails on Australia’s only Golf Course on its own Island at Hamilton Island Golf Club, a gourmet BBQ dinner on picturesque Catseye Beach, mountain peak climb to see sunrise over the tranquil Whitsunday islands, a cuddle with Australia’s native koalas, and more.

The eclectic group is staying in varying accommodation around the Island to showcase the broad offering available to Hamilton Island guests, including the renovated Palm Bungalows, scenic Reef View Hotel, boutique Beach Club, luxury Yacht Club Villas and of course, qualia, recently named Best in the World by readers of US Condé Nast Traveler magazine.

To see Hamilton Island’s Ultimate Instameet Return2Paradise unfold in real-time, follow on Instagram @hamiltonisland, @qualiaresort, and:

Ambassadors: Rebecca Judd (@becjudd), Jeremy Somers (@wearehandsome), Michael Klim (@michaelklim1), Lindy Klim (@lindyklim), Billy Law (@atablefortwo), Scott ‘Dools’ Dooley (@scottdools), and Luisa Brimble (@luisabrimble).

Competition winners: Mark Seabury, Sydney (@markseabury), Robert Read, Sydney (@bobby_j), Matt Glastonbury, Hobart (@mattglastonbury), Mia Glastonbury, Hobart (@miaglastonbury) and Ido Simyoni, London (@ido8all).

Ultimate Instameet : Returntoparadise

Hamilton Island ultimate instameet returntoparadise

Ultimate Instameet : Returntoparadise

Ultimate Instameet : Returntoparadise