GT30 World Powerboating Championship 2011 - Ben Morse clinches Bronze

Ben Morse in action - GT30 World Powerboating Championship 2011
GT30 World Powerboating Championship 2011 was held at Stewartby in Bedford, over the weekend of 18 to 19 June.

It was a Bronze medal for Lancashire’s Ben Morse after competing in the Championship. The seventeen year old from Ashton In Makerfield was racing against nine other competitors in a bid to become 2011 World GT30 Champion.

The three times European Bronze medallist in the Junior JT250 Class moved up to the new 'Green' Engine GT30 Class in 2010 when the inaugural RYA British Championship was held. Morse claimed the British title in 2010 and then set his eyes firmly on the World Championship for 2011.

It was Norwegian Christian Carlsen who took control of the first heat of the 2011 GT30 World Championship from a start position of sixth on the grid. Ben also got a flying start from the outside of the grid and Charlotte Gilbert from pole position reaching the first turn buoy in second and third respectively. The first three positions then remained unchanged for the rest of the eight lap race.

With battles happening further down the fleet with Malcolm Goodman who was left on the start line moving his way up the fleet to finish in seventh behind Natalie Craddock who battled it out with Fredrik Hovland and Marius Fredriksen for the duration of the race.

Following the first race an upheld protest saw No 97 Ben Morse disqualified for not holding his line to the first turn buoy.

In the second heat Norway’s Christian Carlsen got another fantastic start from pole position but on the second lap Boat 88 Natalie Craddock clipped a turn buoy dislodging it causing the race to be restarted.

There was a five lap restart and Christian Carlsen got the best line to the first turn buoy again. Lancashire Powerboat racers Ben Morse and Malcolm Goodman got away in second and third respectively. Goodman overtook Morse on the second lap, on the final lap Fredrik Hovland overtook Ben Morse to finish third behind Goodman in second and Christian Carlsen who took the Chequered flag.

Fredrik Hovland of Norway took a win in the third heat to secure himself Silver Medal position overall with Carlsen taking in second and with it the World Championship title for 2011. Ben Morse finished the third heat in third keeping his chances of Bronze alive, as the battle would go down to the final heat of the day.

Britain’s Malcolm Goodman sustained damage to the boat in the third heat and was forced to pull out of the final heat of the day so the battle for Bronze went down to Lancashire’s Powerboat Racers in Ben Morse, Charlotte Gilbert and Jordan Muckles.

Morse took the first turn mark in third behind Carlsen and Hovland respectively and held Charlotte and Jordan at bay in fourth and fifth positions. These places were held to the chequered flag and as the calculators came out to work out who would take Bronze after their worst result of the four was dropped.

Ben Morse clinched the Bronze medal with just 23 points separating him from Britain’s Charlotte Gilbert who took a very respectable fourth.

PosRace No.NameCountryR1R2R3R4Total
1st60Christian CarlsenNorway400400(300)4001200
2nd73Frederik HovlandNorway(225)225400300925
3rd97Ben MorseGBR(DSQ)169225225619
4th6Charlotte GilberGBR300127(71)169596
5th90Malcolm GoodmanGBR95300(RTD)DNS395
6th9Jordan MucklesGBR(71)95169127391
7th88Natalie CraddockGBR127(DSQ)12795349
8th27Marius FredriksenNorway16953(DSQ)71293
9th11Jüri JõulEstonia(53)719553219
10th30Sam WhittleGBR40(DNS)DNSDNS40

02/12/2014, New York (USA), 35th America's Cup, Venue Announcement Press Conference, Bermuda America's Cup Village Rendering, Podium.

Ben Morse - GT30 World Powerboating Championship 2011

To find out more about powerboat racing and how you can get involved visit the RYA website.